New Deans of Instruction for Career and Technical Education selected

Timm Lovitt and Barry Robinson will become the new Deans of instruction for Career and Technical Education at Green River starting March 29.

Lovitt, currently Green River’s Dean of Student Success and Retention, and Robinson, currently a biology faculty member at Lake Washington Institute of Technology, were selected following a national search. Their appointments were announced by Rebecca Williamson, interim vice president, Instruction.

“Barry and Timm impressed us with their collaborative styles, commitment to students and belief in the community college mission,” Williamson said. “They both have strong track records in building and strengthening partnerships across campus communities.”

According to Williamson, Robinson will oversee the Technology and Health Sciences Divisions while Lovitt will manage the Trades and Business Divisions.

Lovitt joined Green River as the director of Veteran Services in 2013. In that position, he helped veteran and military service members and their families successfully transition into campus life. In 2015, he was named Dean for Student Success and Retention. Lovitt earned an associate’s degree from Edmonds Community College, a bachelor’s degree from Seattle University and a master’s degree from Western Governors University.

Since 2014, Robinson taught biology in Lake Washington Institute of Technology’s Life Sciences Department. Previously, he held academic and teaching appointments at the University of Washington, Trinity Lutheran College, South Seattle College and Eastern Kentucky University. Robinson earned a bachelor’s degree from Brescia University, master’s degrees from Eastern Kentucky University and Capella University and a Ph.D. from University of Kentucky.

Williamson thanked the Deans of Career and Technical Education Screening Committee, which hosted an Open House Jan. 18 and reviewed eighty-nine applications before recommending four finalists.

Committee members included Williamson, Donette Parry, Dan Sorensen, Monica Paulson Priebe, Nicole Harris, Richard Douglas, Angie Brenner, Leanna Patricio, Leslie Kessler, and Catherine Cantrell.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.