Nominations open for the 2017 Distinguished Faculty Award

Marisela Fleites-Lear, faculty, Spanish

Nominations for the Green River College Foundation Distinguished Faculty Award are now being accepted. Nomination forms should be turned into the Foundation by April 19 and can be downloaded here: 2017 Distinguished Faculty Award Nomination form (PDF).

The Distinguished Faculty Awards are annually awarded and designed to recognize Green River College faculty members who demonstrate distinguished service to education through their teaching and involvement in the campus community.

Each spring, three awards are presented to faculty at graduation. The recipients are chosen in a process that begins with nominations. Anyone can nominate a faculty member for the award.

Tim Broxholm, faculty, Business Management

73 Faculty members have been named Distinguished Faculty Members since 1985. The 2016 2016 Distinguished Faculty Recipients were Marisela Fleites-Lear, faculty, Spanish, and Tim Broxholm, faculty, Business Management.

The first award was made in 1985 to Marv Nelson. Marv was one of the original science faculty, teaching physics until his retirement. Marv was an innovative teacher and has been nationally recognized through work with the National Science Foundation, American Physics Society, and more. In 2007, Green River named its brand new science complex the Marv Nelson Science Center. Marv continues to give back to Green River today by serving on the Foundation Board.

For more information, please visit Green River College Foundation Distinguished Faculty Award.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.